

April 1, 2024

Assemblymember Isaac G. Bryan 1021 O Street, Suite 5630 Sacramento, CA 95814

Re: Support for Assembly Bill (AB) 2716 - Oil and gas: low-production wells: sensitive receptors

Dear Assemblymember Bryan,

We, the undersigned, write to express our strong support for Assembly Bill 2716 (Bryan). This important bill holds the oil and gas industry accountable by charging \$10,000 per day to oil wells producing less than 15 barrels per day within a half mile of a community.

Approximately 2.7 million Californians live within 3,200 feet of an oil well. These Californians suffer higher rates of respiratory illness, prenatal defects, and cancer.

AB 2716, the Low-Producing Well Accountability Act, takes aim at wells in these dangerous zones that are adding significantly to these health risks while producing only insignificant amounts of oil.

Wells that produce fewer than 15 barrels of oil per day are known as "stripper wells" because they are considered at the end of their economically useful life. Oil drillers would rather keep them running with low output than pay the cost of plugging them.

We believe that it is unacceptable to allow oil drillers to continue to run these low production wells with no economic benefit while the people in nearby communities pay with their health. This legislation holds them accountable.

We need AB 2716 to incentivize oil companies to shut down their stripper wells to protect our most vulnerable. We urge your support of AB 2716.

Sincerely,

Susan Penner Co-Chair, Legislative Working Group 1000 Grandmothers for Future Generations

Valerie Ventre-Hutton Legislative Analysts 350 Bay Area Action

Alan Weiner Chapter lead 350 Conejo / San Fernando Valley

William Brieger Chair, Legislation & Policy Team 350 Sacramento

Sherry Lear Organizer 350 South Bay Los Angeles Jan Dietrick Policy Team Lead 350 Ventura County Climate Hub

Zoe Christopher Program Officer Breast Cancer Action

Micah Perlin Director California Climate Voters

Fatima Iqbal-Zubair Legislative Affairs Manager California Environmental Voters

Barbara Sattler Leadership Council California Nurses for Environmental Health and Justice

Jason Pfeifle Senior Campaigner Center for Biological Diversity

Marven Norman Policy Coordinator Center for Community Action and Environmental Justice

Nayamin Martinez Executive Director Central California Environmental Justice Network

Ana Rosa Rizo-Centino Board President Central Coast Environmental Voters

Lynda Marin Chapter lead Citizens' Climate Lobby Santa Cruz chapter

Janet Cox CEO Climate Action California

Haley Ehlers
Executive Director
Climate First: Replacing Oil & Gas (CFROG)

RL Miller President Climate Hawks Vote

Ashley McClure Codirector, Physician Climate Health Now

Paul Wermer Co-Lead, SF Policy Action Climate Reality Project San Francisco Policy Action

Andy Hattala Vice Chair and Water Committee Chair Climate Reality Project Los Angeles Chapter

Kathy Schaeffer Legislative Coordinator Climate Reality Project San Fernando Valley

Bahram Fazeli Policy Director Communities for a Better Environment

Jamie Court President Consumer Watchdog

Rosemary Shahan President Consumers for Auto Reliability and Safety

Todd Weber Volunteer, Chapter Co-Leader Elders Climate Action (ECA) Northern California (NorCal) Chapter

Richard Burke Founder, Chapter Leader Elders Climate Action (ECA) Southern California (SoCal) Chapter

Meghan Sahli-Wells California Director Elected Officials to Protect America - Code Blue Bill Allayaud Calif. Director of Gov't Affairs Environmental Working Group

Leah Redwood Action Coordinator Extinction Rebellion San Francisco Bay Area

Chirag G Bhakta
California Director
Food & Water Watch

Miriam Eide Executive Director Fossil Free California

Shannon Smith Executive Director FracTracker Alliance

Nicole Ghio Senior Fossil Fuels Program Manager Friends of the Earth

Elise Kalfayan Board Member Glendale Environmental Coalition

Zachary Norris California Climate Director Greenpeace USA

Jennifer Tanner Leader Indivisible CA Green Team

Susan Morgan Founder and director Indivisible Marin

Joanne Hadley Founder/Coordinator Manhattan Beach Huddle

Leah Redwood Climate Justice Organizer Oil and Gas Action Network Ilonka Zlatar Organizer Oil and Gas Action Network

Maro Kakoussian Director of Climate & Health Programs Physicians for Social Responsibility - Los Angeles

Harry Wang, MD President Physicians for Social Responsibility/Sacramento

Matt Nelson Executive Director Presente.org

Chance Cutrano
Director of Programs
Resource Renewal Institute

David Swanson Campaign Coordinator RootsAction.org

Robert M. Gould, MD President San Francisco Bay Physicians for Social Responsibility

Ben Eichenberg Staff Attorney San Francisco Baykeeper

Joni Eisen Steering Committee Member San Francisco Climate emergency Coalition

Emily Brandt Secretary San Joaquin Valley Democratic Club

Katharine Harrison Legislative Team Co-Chair SanDiego350

Rachel Altman Administrator Santa Barbara Standing Rock Coalition Pauline Seales Organizer Santa Cruz Climate Action Network

Gabriela Facio Senior Policy Strategist Sierra Club California

Jack Eidt Co-Founder SoCal 350 Climate Action

Nathan Taft Senior Digital Campaigner Stand.earth

Shoshana Wechsler Co-Coordinator Sunflower Alliance

Marilyn Price Co-Chair Sustainable Mill Valley

Woody Hastings Phase Out Polluting Fuels Program Manager The Climate Center

Allan Moskowitz CFP CEO Transformative Wealth Management, LLC

Professor Clair Brown Economics Professor UC Berkeley

Andrea León-Grossmann Deputy Program Director - West Vote Solar

Joan Gallagher West LA Dem Club State and National Chair West LA Democratic Club

Marc Saltzberg Chair, West LA Democratic Club Environment and Clean Energy Committee West LA Democratic Club